First off, have you ever had apple pie with cheese slices on it? Yesterday my Lover and I walked through the pouring rain to the bus, hopped on and an hour later ended up in Lower Sackville to visit my poppy for a home-cooked meal of turkey and all the fix’ins. I opted out of the turkey and went for the homemade baked beans with mashed potato, turnip, carrots, homemade stuffing, homemade cranberry sauce and homemade beets. I emphasize “homemade” because in my opinion, that is the best way to eat food. Oh my goodness, as you can imagine the evening was delicious and relaxing (a home away from home). When it came time for dessert my poppy set out these generous slices of apple pie with old-fashioned cheese slices on top! Chuckling, my poppy explained that “all the fancy places have cheese on their pies”. I took his word for it and dug in. To end the evening we cleaned up and sat in the living room with a glass of Baileys on ice whilst trying to program my poppy’s new phone.

Play this song, you won’t regret it.

