Happy Thanksgiving! As you can see from the title of this post, my lover and I went to Lunenburg for the weekend to get away from the city and to experience the South Shore of Nova Scotia. Instead of cooking a big thanksgiving meal we decided to use that money to spend a night in a B&B and treat ourselves to a nice vacation.

Our first night we took the bus to my poppy’s house and spent the evening with him. He cooked us another home-cooked meal and it was delicious. Afterwards, my poppy and Gordon played checkers while I caught up on “Say Yes To The Dress” on TLC. We don’t have cable at home so sometimes it’s nice to just curl up on the couch and watch t.v.

When we woke up in the morning we borrowed my poppy’s car and drove along the water until we arrived in Lunenburg. Oh my goodness, it was so lovely. Lunenburg is a UNESCO World Heritage site which is situated on the South Shore of Nova Scotia. It’s brimming with historic houses and old-world charm. Lunenburg is home to the Bluenose II (which is a re-built schooner and Nova Scotia’s sailing ambassador) so you can imagine the pride that the town takes in maintaining it’s properties and ocean-front. My lover and I stayed in the ‘old town’ which was established in 1753 by the “new settlers” (German, Swiss and French). Fishing and shipbuilding are the two traditonal industries that flourished in the past and still continue today!

Feel free to click on these pictures which brings you to a gallery-type setting

Where we stayed: We stayed in a sweet little Bed & Breakfast called The Sail Inn (http://www.sailinn.ca/) which we think was definitely well priced and worth the money. The cost of the room was $138 (including taxes) which featured a gorgeous bedroom on the top floor overlooking the harbour in a turn-of-the centruy Skipper’s house. It contained one of the most comfortable beds I’ve ever slept in, a modern yet charming decor and an amazing bathroom complete with a jacuzzi bathtub and a shower with one of those rainforest showerheads. When you stay at The Sail Inn you get a complimentary sail-trip on their boat called the ‘Eastern Star’ (some conditions apply). Unfortunately Gordon and I missed out on the boat trip but received an official rain cheque that doesn’t expire in case we ever decide to go back to Lunenburg. When you stay at The Sail Inn, you also get a free breakfast which was great! It inlcuded croissants, toast, eggs and bacon as well as salmon, pickled herring, dried fruit, cheese, fresh fruit, delicious orange juice among other things). Here are some pictures of our room/bathroom:

Where we ate: Gordon and I ate at Trattoria della Nonna, which is an Italian restaurant down the street from where we stayed. On TripAdvisor (I know I’m a nerd) it was the highest rated restaurant in Lunenburg and since this was a weekend of indulgences, we decided to dress-up and spend an evening eating good food! Unfortunately my pictures of our food didn’t turn out but I had the Toscana pizza (eggplant, zucchini, peppers, caramelized onion, gorgonzold on top of a thin crust pizza) and Gordon had the Puttanesca (Linguini, Indian Point mussels, capers, olives, anchovies, blistered grape tomatoes, chiles and pomodoro). I’d recommend this restaurant but I would definitely advise you to reserve a table (preferably not up by the bar area). Also, the options for vegetarians was limited so I had to keep my meal simple. Actually, Lunenburg is not very vegetarian-friendly so watch out for that.

All in all, it has been a great Thanksgiving weekend and I wouldn’t have spent it any other way. I’m thankful for my great boyfriend, my loving family, beautiful weather, an awesome job and school, this beautiful province, the ocean and opportunities to enjoy life.

