Chai Tea

1 1/2 quart water

4 black tea bags (Bengali tea with the tiger on the front)

10 whole cardamon seeds

2 cinnamon sticks, broken in half

1 tsp black peppercorns

3 tbsp sugar

Bring water to boil, add in rest of ingredients except sugar, return to boil, add in sugar and let stand for 5 minutes.

My boyfriend has been making this tea lately after he wandered into a little Indian shop in the North End of Halifax. He bought the ingredients which he says was worth the extra money because you can make tea everyday for a month or more if you wanted to. This morning after a brisk walk in the early morning chill, Gordon made me some chai tea (without the sugar) and it was soothing and warm. I also had oatmeal mixed with bran, bananas and milk. mmm food.

This month I’ve decided to refrain from processed sugar. This means no-more sugary cereal, candy and chocolate. I’ve also been eating wholesome and home-cooked foods. Last night Gordon made us a bunch of curry carrot soup and it was delicious and packed with nutrients. My best friend is currently on a better path of health and he has been inspiring me to look after my own health (which was already something I did but it’s nice to have outside support). In 2009 I was about 35 pounds heavier than I am now but after years of changing my lifestyle habits, moving to British Columbia and working at an organic sprout farm I slowly shed the unwanted pounds. Talking about weight and food is something that has always been a sensative issue for me. Body image and the way I value myself is also something that has impacted my life and I know that it impacts other people as well. I work at a women’s centre and about two weeks ago I hosted a ‘Lazy Feminist Book Club” wherein we talked about body image and ‘fat talk’– it is always so interesting to talk about these things with other women because then you don’t feel so alone and burdened with societal pressures. In March, my women’s centre will be hosting The Body Monologues so we can faciliate open discussion about these types of issues.

I have no idea how Chai tea turned to body image but it just happened. haha

Hope you are all having a fabulous Halloween weekend! I feel like my Halloween spirit has passed and therefore this weekend I plan on hunkering down in my apartment to write some literary papers for school! Decidedly not as fun, but still valuable right? I am a nerd. It’s fine, moving on.

Cheers!

