I haven’t mentioned it on my blog yet but this year I’ve taken on the role of producing and directing The Vagina Monologues. It’s a big job but damn, I love it. Last year I decided to try out for the Vagina Monologues after some encouragement from the SMU Women’s Centre. I was in a very interesting point of my life where I had moved across the entire country away from my family and boyfriend who were back in BC. I was living on my own for the first time and seeking an outlet for my pent-up feminism. After my first audition I knew I was on the right path. I ended up reading “Comfort Women” and just…the feeling I got from reading and expressing deep sorrow on stage was so powerful; connecting with other women and really feeling the emotion and intensity was very comforting and inspiring. After those experiences I knew that I needed to be involved again this year so I went ahead and decided to produce and direct it to ensure the production happened again in Halifax and so that other women can feel what I felt.

For the past two weeks I’ve been hosting auditions for women to come read and have a chance to take part of something magical. Last week I auditioned 3 women and today I auditioned 6. All of them were inspiring and full of energy & life and gave me focus and new-found energy in the work that I’m doing. I’ve been fortunate to find some volunteers who’ve been graciously helping in making the show a success. For the next few months we’ll be busy with this show but the end result will be worth it!

For those that may be interested in performing or volunteering (helping with postering/fundraising/ticket selling) please email smu.womenscentre@gmail.com

Performance is happening February 9th, 10th & 11th (I know I’m early in promoting but I’m just too excited!)

Cheers!

