Hello everyone! My name is Gordon, and I’m going through a new phase called “The Kitchen Transition”. Before, I was just a bachelor with a spatula, without any skill, knowledge or confidence in cooking. Then I began to learn some easy recipes like fried rice, chicken soup and vegetarian chili. When those recipes got boring, I moved on to more complex recipes. As my cooking skills got better and better, I realized that many recipes which intimidated me before are actually quite easy.  Now, I feel like I can make anything!  By writing this article for Danielle’s blog I want to share my enthusiasm with everyone.

First off, here’s a recipe for Sugar-Free Bran Muffins:

In one bowl mix

  • 1 ¼ cup bran
  • 1 cup of milk

stir until the bran is nice and moist. Then let it stand for about 5 minutes. While it’s standing, you can do the following:

In a second bowl mix

  • 1 cup all purpose flour
  • 2 ½ tsp. baking powder
  • ½ tsp. baking soda
  • ½ tsp. salt

(if you want sugar, you can add ½ cup)

In a third bowl mix

  • 1 egg
  • ¼ cup vegetable oil

Take the second bowl, and make a little well in the middle of the pile. Then pour in the egg and oil from the third bowl. On top of that, pour in the bran and milk from the first bowl.  Stir, but do not stir too much. Also, throw in a handful of raisons at this point.

Then grease a muffin pan. My way is to dip my fingers in some margarine, and run them along the mould of the pan. But you can do whatever you like.

Now, fill each mould in the pan until it’s ⅔ full. For the big muffins that you see in the picture, fill each mould all the way to the top. Sprinkle with some oat flakes, and place in the oven at 200 degrees Celsius (400 degrees Fahrenheit) for 20 minutes or less.

Gordon is not a professional and everything he says should be taken with a grain of salt. His passion for cooking began about a month ago so let’s hope this isn’t a phase and he continues to cook delicious food for his girlfriend.

