As a response to  Dalhousie’s blogging project I’ve decided to write my own little post; not only for the fact that this topic is on constant replay in my head but because I realized that this morning when my boyfriend took these photos and I decided not to post them, I was in fact partaking in an action to deminish myself based on my appearance. That is reason enough to write about body image here today because I thought that my legs looked too short and that my head looked gigantic. I thought that my hips looked too wide and my face was too puffy and therefore they certainly weren’t good enough to be posted all over the internet.

Here’s the deal.

Basically, I’ve been self-conscious for as long as I can remember because I’ve always been chubby and carried extra fat around my waist-line (despite competitively swimming from age 10 onwards). That extra fat meant that I was somehow superior to my other friends and that somehow I was less desirable in the dating world when I got to be highschool age. The thing is, is that I don’t know if it’s because that was the way I was actually treated or if it was because I internalized the shame and just automatically assumed that role of being the ‘chubby’ one. I could write pages about how I felt in middle school and then how I felt in high-school–heck, I could even write pages about how I feel now as a college age woman in an increasingly media and image-based society but instead, I want to say that I’m tired. I’m tired of letting fat define who I am and obsessing over what I eat. I’m tired of feeling guilty when I eat chocolate and binging on it every once and awhile when I get the chance. I want to be free and freedom right now means posting pictures of my happy face in an outfit that I feel FIERCE in.

My legs might look short but they are mighty, my head might be big but damn, it houses a beautiful brain. My hips might be wide but hey, they look good in high-waisted skirts. My face might be puffy but that’s because I just woke up to greet the day with my bright eyes.

So I’ve said it once and I’ll say it again: haterz to the left–and that includes me too (unless of course I’m appreciating myself for what I really am…amazing).

All you bloggers, please join me in writing about body image and leave a comment so I can read yours too!

